If I Unblock Someone On iMessage, What Happens?

Blocking someone’s phone number is a convenient way to stop them from being able to call you or send you text messages. Aside from being unable to send you messages through regular SMS, they also won’t be able to message you on iMessage if you use an iPhone.

You will need to unblock them before you can receive messages from them again. With that being said, let’s find out what happens if you unblock someone on iMessage.

If I Unblock Someone On iMessage, What Happens?

If you unblock someone on iMessage, they will be able to send messages to you again.

However, if the person you unblocked doesn’t try texting you again, there’s no way for them to know that you’ve unblocked them. They won’t get a notification that you’ve unblocked them unless they send a message.

You will also be able to send messages to the person if the person hasn’t blocked you too. They will be able to receive your message, and you will get a notification when your message delivers.

If the person sent you messages when you had them on your blocked list, you wouldn’t be able to see those messages. The only messages you will be able to see are the ones they sent before you blocked them.

If You Unblock Someone On iPhone iMessage, Do You Get Their Texts?

You only get the text messages they send after you unblocked them. The messages they sent when they were on your blocked list won’t appear on your end.

If you want to see those messages, you will have to ask them to resend them to you again.

How to Know If Someone Blocked You On iMessage

You won’t get a notification when someone blocks you on iMessage, but there are different ways for you to find out if someone has blocked you.

Option 1: Check the iMessage delivery status.

When you send a message to someone on iMessage, the app will let you know if the recipient of your message has received the message. You will be able to see a “Delivered” message right under the message you sent.

The iMessage app also offers a “Read Receipts” feature that enables you to know when someone has opened and read your message. However, turning this feature on is based on personal preference.

Since some people prefer to turn it off for privacy reasons, it is not always a sure way to tell if they have blocked you.

Nonetheless, you should look out for the “Delivered” message under the messages you’ve sent. If you don’t see the “Delivered” message under the messages you send, they have blocked you.

Option 2: Check the color of your iMessage text bubble.

When you communicate with someone via text using the iMessage app, you and the person’s chat bubbles will appear in blue.

However, if someone enables the Send as SMS service on their iPhone, they will start messaging through their phone number. Text messages between you and the person will begin to appear in green instead of blue to show that you are no longer using iMessage.

With that being said, there are some things to consider. At first, the green text bubbles could mean that the person you’re messaging doesn’t have an internet connection, or they may have changed to an Android device.

However, it could also mean they have blocked you, especially if it takes longer for them to reply.

Option 3: Try to contact them through other messaging apps.

If you can’t seem to get through to the person on iMessage, try contacting them via another messaging app. For example, you can try messaging apps like WhatsApp or Instagram.

If you can confirm that they received your message on WhatsApp, it could mean that they’ve blocked you on iMessage.

Option 4: Try calling them

If someone has blocked you, you won’t be able to reach them through a phone call. Their carrier network will always redirect you to voicemail anytime you call them.

How to View Blocked Messages On iPhone

Unfortunately, there is no way you can view blocked messages on your iPhone. This is because iPhone doesn’t have a “blocked folder” for storing messages from a blocked number.

As a result, you can’t view the messages a blocked contact sent to you when they were still in your blocked list. The only way for you to view blocked messages is to ask the person to resend the messages after you unblock them.

How to Know If Someone Unblocked You On iMessage Without Texting Them

The best way for you to find out if someone has unblocked you on iMessage is to try texting them. However, if you don’t want to text them, try to check their profile.

You will be able to see their profile if they have unblocked you.

Another way for you to find out is by calling them. If your call doesn’t go straight to voicemail, they may have unblocked you.

How to Unblock Someone On iMessage

Here are the steps you need to follow to unblock someone on iMessage.

  • STEP 1: Open the iMessage app on your iPhone.
  • STEP 2: Go to the profile belonging to the contact you want to block. If you’ve exchanged texts with the person before, just open the conversation and tap the contact’s photo at the top of the page.
  • STEP 3: Tap the info box that appears with other options on the next page.
  • STEP 4: Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and select “Unblock this Caller

Alternatively, you can unblock them by removing them from the blocked list. Follow the process below:

  • STEP 1: Go to your iPhone “Settings
  • STEP 2: Tap the “Phone” option.
  • STEP 3: Tap on “Blocked Contacts
  • STEP 4: Locate the contact or number you want to unblock and swipe it to the left.
  • STEP 5: Tap Unblock.

Do Blocked iMessages Turn Green?

Yes, they do. When you block someone on iMessage, or someone blocks you, your chat bubbles will turn green instead of blue.

Conclusion

We hope you have learned a lot about what happens if you unblock someone on iMessage.

Always remember that unblocking a number that was spamming you before doesn’t make them stop spamming you after you unblock them. If you don’t want to keep receiving unwanted texts, it is better to leave the contact in your blocked list.

Read also: What Happens If You Delete System32?